Scoop Indian TV Series

Scoop (Indian TV Series)

"Scoop," the Indian TV series, is a compelling exploration of the cutthroat world of journalism and crime. Created and directed by Hansal Mehta and Mrunmayee Lagoo Waikul, the show features an ensemble cast led by Karishma Tanna, Mohammed Zeeshan Ayyub, and Harman Baweja. It delves into the complexities of ambition and journalistic ethics as it follows the story of a woman ensnared in a web of controversy within her own professional community. The series has garnered critical acclaim for its outstanding performances, skillful direction, and a screenplay that delves into the gritty realities of investigative reporting, making it a standout in the world of Indian television.

Tags: , , , , ,

“Scoop” is a 2023 Indian crime drama series available for streaming on Netflix. It was created and directed by Hansal Mehta and Mrunmayee Lagoo Waikul. The series features a cast led by Karishma Tanna, Mohammed Zeeshan Ayyub, and Harman Baweja, with supporting roles played by Prosenjit Chatterjee, Tannishtha Chatterjee, and Deven Bhojani. Produced by Sarita Patil and Dikssha Jyote Routray under the Matchbox Shots banner, “Scoop” made its Netflix debut on June 2, 2023.

The series draws inspiration from Jigna Vora’s autobiographical memoir, “Behind Bars in Byculla: My Days in Prison,” and centers around the true story of Jigna Vora, who faced accusations in the murder case of mid-day reporter Jyotirmoy Dey in June 2011.


Jagruti Pathak, a well-known crime journalist, finds herself in a dire situation as the primary suspect in the gruesome murder of a fellow journalist. She must vigorously proclaim her innocence, facing mounting scrutiny and suspicion. The prevailing belief is that she leveraged her connections in the criminal underworld to eliminate her rival.

  1. Karishma Tanna as Jagruti Pathak, Senior crime reporter and Deputy Bureau Chief of Eastern Age (based on Jigna Vora)
  2. Mohammed Zeeshan Ayyub as Imran Siddiqui, Editor-in-Chief of Eastern Age (based on Hussain Zaidi)
  3. Prosenjit Chatterjee as Jaideb Sen, Head Of Investigations at News Day (based on Jyotirmoy Dey)
  4. Harman Baweja as JCP Harshavardhan Shroff (based on Himanshu Roy)
  5. Tannishtha Chatterjee as Leena Pradhan, Editor-in-chief of Citi Mirror
  6. Inayat Sood as Deepa Chandra
  7. Deven Bhojani as Mama, Jagruti’s maternal uncle
  8. Shikha Talsania as Vidya Chaudhary Bisht alias ‘Sadhvi Maa’
  9. Tanmay Dhanania as Pushkar Mohan
  10. Sanat Vyas as Jagruti’s maternal grandfather
  11. Ira Dubey as Anita Mohan
  12. Ishitta Arun as Nelly Siddiqui
  13. Amar Upadhyay as Sumeet
  14. Ayaz Khan as Brij
  15. Pubali Sanyal as Shoma Sen, Jaideb Sen’s wife
  16. Pankaj Vishnu
  17. Ravish Desai as Advocate Bhavesh Desai, Jagruti Pathak’s defending lawyer
  18. Ninad Kamat as Jagmohan Guha
  19. Aseem Hattangadi as Sandeep Narvekar
  20. Manasi Rachh as Neha Gupta, Newsreader at India Now Channel
  21. Danish Sait as Sushant, Newsreader at AB TV Channel
  22. Pratik Gandhi as Man on Road
  23. Shreya Gupto as Rupali
  24. Mehul Kajaria as Darshan, Jagruti’s ex-husband
  25. Malhar Thakar as Ajitesh Bhatt, Jagruti’s boyfriend
  26. Tejaswini Kolhapure as Chhaya Gada alias ‘Rambha Maa’
  27. Swaroopa Ghosh as Ushadevi
  28. Darshan Dave as ATS Chief Ramesh Malik
  29. Chirag Vohra as ACP Mahanande
  30. Alekh Sangal
  31. Jaimini Pathak as Advocate Chintan Vashisht, senior defence lawyer
  32. Atul Kale as Dalvi Ji, Senior reporter

Netflix officially unveiled the series through a press release on February 8, 2022, and principal photography commenced in the same month.

The series was initially introduced to the public during Netflix’s global fan event in September 2022. Netflix India’s official teaser for the series became available on September 24, 2022. Subsequently, the trailer, along with the release date, was revealed on May 14, 2023.

The series made its debut on Netflix on June 2, 2023.

On June 2, 2023, Rajendra Sadashiv Nikalje, widely known as Chhota Rajan, expressed his objections regarding the use of his image and voice in the series, alleging a violation of his personality rights by the creators. He took legal action by filing a case in the Bombay High Court, seeking the removal of the series from the platform. However, on the same day, the High Court dismissed his plea. Chhota Rajan’s legal representative, senior advocate Mihir Desai, argued that his client holds copyright over his image, preventing its unauthorized use. When questioned by the bench about the nature of the dispute, whether it was a commercial intellectual property rights matter, Desai suggested mediation. As a result, the court instructed the plaintiff to amend the lawsuit appropriately.


After its release on June 2, ‘Scoop’ quickly climbed to the top position on Netflix’s list of most-watched content in both India and Bangladesh. In the subsequent week, it maintained its presence in the top 10 rankings in both countries, securing the second-place position.

The series garnered acclaim from critics who lauded its performances, direction, and screenplay. The Hindu remarked that Karishma Tanna and Mohammed Zeeshan Ayyub brought vitality to the show, which explores the hazards of ambition and the sacrifices made in the pursuit of journalistic integrity. NDTV’s Saibal Chatterjee, awarding it 4 out of 5 stars, noted how ‘Scoop’ skillfully navigates multiple subplots while remaining centered on a woman facing defamation within her own professional circle and a pressured police force striving to solve a complex case.

Deepa Gahlot, writing for, gave it 4 out of 5 stars and praised its authentic look and attention to detail, capturing the city’s transformation over a decade. Santanu Das of Hindustan Times hailed it as one of the year’s finest shows, commending the screenplay and its relentless immersion into the daily grind of journalism, from chasing breaking stories to cultivating undercover sources and translating news onto the page.

Be the first to review “Scoop (Indian TV Series)”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

There are no reviews yet.